Before Ellis Island

There are so many people on my tree I am dying to find out about, I’ve been finding myself getting overwhelmed and confused.  I’ve been dividing my time between the Meditz and Proffitt lines primarily, but I’ve found myself hopping around too much within those families, and even skipping over to the Cachia line.  Tsk, tsk to me.

So I’ve decided to focus on some very specific things for the time being.  One of the things I’ve chosen to focus on is finding the first passenger list for John Meditz.  The records I have found show that John had immigrated to New York some time between 1887 and 1890.  I seem to have pretty decent luck finding passenger lists from Ellis Island, but Ellis Island was not opened until 1892.  It’s kind of strange thinking that my ancestor didn’t arrive at Ellis Island when he first came over.  He probably was processed at Castle Garden.

I haven’t been able to find anything in the indexed searches, so I’m going hunting!  It’s going to take a while to go through 4 years of passenger lists, but hopefully I don’t come up empty handed.

Meanwhile, I took another look at John’s naturalization paperwork, from October, 1894.  I must have looked at this 50 times, especially since this is a document my parents had tracked down years ago.  But for the first time I noticed an address on it, 31 McKibbin Street.  This is different from the address where he was living in the 1892 New York Census.  He was also vouched for by an acquaintance named Anton Riegel, who lived at the same address, and swore that John had lived in the US for at least 5 years.  Maybe I can poke around for Anton a little and see if I can get any more clues, as long as I don’t get too distracted from my massive passenger list search.

And one more thing:

John Meditz signature

John Meditz’s signature

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

